Alderley Edge Pre-school


Alderley Edge preschool follows the 'Early Years Foundation Stage' (EYFS) which sets the standards that all early years providers must meet to ensure that children learn and develop well and are kept healthy and safe. It promotes teaching and learning to ensure children’s ‘school readiness’ and gives children the broad range of knowledge and skills that provide the right foundation for good future progress through school and life.

We observe, assess and plan for children's learning and development across 7 areas ;

The 3 Prime areas:

  • Playing and exploring

  • Active learning

  • Creating and thinking critically

And the 4 specific areas:

  • Literacy

  • Mathematics

  • Understanding the world

  • Expressive arts and design

Our daily routine includes moment by moment experiences, purposeful and engaging resources which encourage all children to get involved with, which in turn promotes all these 7 areas.

Activities and resources are enhanced around children’s current interests in the moment, with the key person identifying possible lines of development that meet the needs of the children in their care. Your key person will record your child’s progress through the areas of learning and development in the form of learning stories on an online system called Tapestry. We provide regular opportunities for parents to discuss their child's needs, interests and achievements whenever possible.